North Carolina Logo

Back

How to Become a Real Estate Agent in North Carolina

By Thomas Mitchell

If you wish to become a real estate agent (known as a provisional broker) in North Carolina, there are a few things you are going to have to do before you take the test and become certified. In addition to meeting certain requirements there are different documents you must provide and certain education courses you must complete.

The basic requirements you must meet if you wish to be on your way to becoming a real estate agent in North Carolina are as follows.

  • You must be at least 18 years of age
  • You must be a United States citizen, a non-citizen national or a qualified alien under federal law
  • You must have a social security number
  • You must satisfy one of a list of specific education qualification operations which we will cover.
  • You must file a complete application and fee
  • You must pass the real estate license examination
  • You must satisfy the commission that they possess the requisite character to be entitled to licensure

As far as education goes, you will need to either complete the prescribed 75-classroom hour North Carolina pre-license course, complete a real estate salesperson pre-license course of at least 75 hours in another state, or partake in education or unlicensed experience equivalent to the broker pre-license course. The most common path is by enrolling in a North Carolina pre-license course and completing it, but there are other options for those who need them, including an online course. You should make sure to complete the required courses no more than 3 years before you apply for a license.

Prospective brokers should keep in mind that not all schools are tailored to aid you in the pre-license education process. Some are more geared toward the post licensing period. Here is a list of approved real state schools for prelicensure. Once you complete the necessary education requirements you will be issued a "Provisional Broker" license, with the ability to work in real estate only under the supervision of a broker-in-charge. To terminate the "provisional" status you must satisfy all the post licensing education requirements. Once you do this you will no longer have to be supervised by a broker-in-charge so that you can hold an "active" license. If you wish to operate independently as a sole proprietor after you become a "broker", then you must qualify for and designate yourself as a broker-in-charge so that you can operate independently and perform brokerage activities.

Once you have completed the required education, you may begin the application process for the licensing exam. You will have to submit your original course completion certificate to wherever you're applying. Then you will have to pay a $30 fee to take the real estate broker examination. If you pass the test, you will then have to submit proof to the North Carolina Real Estate Commission that you are honest, ethical and competent. You will need to supply your fingerprints and complete a criminal record report.

Once you have your North Carolina real estate license, you must complete six hours of approved post-licensing courses by the June 10th deadline every three years if you wish to prevent your broker license from expiring.

Share this:

Comments

Leave a comment:

* Login in order to leave a comment. Don't have an account? Join for Free



About The Author

Become an Expert Contributor

Have some knowledge to share, and want easy and effective exposure to our audience? Get your articles or guides featured on North Carolina Homes today! Learn more about being an expert contributor.

Learn More